Hello Denice, here is a pretty good list of unsafe ingredients for Celiacs. This website seems to be very up to date on research findings (https://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsafe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Unsafe-Ingredients/Page1.html.)  With the caramel color, one needs to contact the manufacturer to see if it is or is not gluten free (depends on how/where it is made)………….if you need any other help with this issue, let me know. As I am sure you know, this problem with wheat gluten is becoming very common………..I think the latest figures are 1/130 Americans. And 95% are not diagnosed! Just getting ill with a lot of things we never associated with Celiac disease.   Annette Kohn-Lau

Thanks much Annette. You’re an Angel!  Denice

  • Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)
  • Alcohol (Spirits – Specific Types)
  • Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Barley Grass (can contain seeds)
  • Barley Hordeum vulgare
  • Barley Malt
  • Beer
  • Bleached Flour
  • Blue Cheese (made with bread)
  • Bran
  • Bread Flour
  • Brewers Yeast
  • Brown Flour
  • Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)
  • Bulgur Wheat
  • Cereal Binding
  • Chilton
  • Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum)
  • Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • Couscous
  • Dextrimaltose
  • Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate
  • Durum wheat (Triticum durum)
  • Edible Starch
  • Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)
  • Emmer (Triticum dicoccon)
  • Farina
  • Farina Graham
  • Filler
  • Flour (normally this is wheat)
  • Fu (dried wheat gluten)
  • Germ
  • Graham Flour
  • Granary Flour
  • Groats (barley, wheat)
  • Hard Wheat
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch
  • Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Kamut (Pasta wheat)
  • Malt
  • Malt Extract
  • Malt Syrup
  • Malt Flavoring
  • Malt Vinegar
  • Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • Matzo Semolina
  • Mir
  • Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum)
  • Pasta
  • Pearl Barley
  • Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum)
  • Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum)
  • Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum)
  • Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Semolina Triticum
  • Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • Small Spelt
  • Spirits (Specific Types)
  • Spelt (Triticum spelta)
  • Sprouted Wheat or Barley
  • Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Strong Flour
  • Suet in Packets
  • Tabbouleh
  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Textured Vegetable Protein – TVP
  • Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii)
  • Triticale X triticosecale
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil
  • Udon (wheat noodles)
  • Unbleached Flour
  • Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • Vegetable Starch
  • Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
  • Wheat amino acids
  • Wheat Bran Extract
  • Wheat, Bulgur
  • Wheat Durum Triticum
  • Wheat Germ Extract
  • Wheat Germ Glycerides
  • Wheat Germ Oil
  • Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)
  • Wheat Nuts
  • Wheat Protein
  • Wheat Triticum aestivum
  • Wheat Triticum Monococcum
  • Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract
  • Whole-Meal Flour
  • Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim)
  • Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)

 

The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made, and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:

  • Artificial Color
  • Caramel Color
  • Coloring
  • Dextrins
  • Flavoring
  • Food Starch
  • Glucose Syrup
  • Gravy Cubes
  • Ground Spices
  • Maltodextrin
  • Maltose
  • Miso
  • Modified Food Starch
  • Modified Starch
  • Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)
  • Mustard Powder
  • Natural Flavoring
  • Shoyu (soy sauce)
  • Smoke Flavoring
  • Soba Noodles
  • Soy Sauce
  • Starch
  • Stock Cubes
  • Vitamins
  • Wheat Starch

The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet). Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization proces

Most celiac organizations in the USA and Canada do not believe that wheat starch is safe for celiacs. In Europe, however, Codex Alimentarius Quality wheat starch is considered acceptable in the celiac diet by most doctors and celiac organizations. This is a higher quality of wheat starch than is generally available in the USA or Canada.

According to 21 C.F.R. S 101,22(a)(3): the terms natural flavor or natural flavoring means the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof. Whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional.

Dextrin is an incompletely hydrolyzed starch. It is prepared by dry heating corn, waxy maize, waxy milo, potato, arrowroot, WHEAT, rice, tapioca, or sago starches, or by dry heating the starches after: (1) Treatment with safe and suitable alkalis, acids, or pH control agents and (2) drying the acid or alkali treated starch. (1) Therefore, unless you know the source, you must avoid dextrin.

May 1997 Sprue-Nik News.
(1) Federal Register (4-1-96 Edition) 21CFR Ch.1, Section 184.12277.
(2) Federal Register (4-1-96) 21 CFR. Ch.1, Section 184.144

Maltodextrin is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by partial hydrolysis of corn starch or potato starch with safe and suitable acids and enzymes. (1)Maltodextrin, when listed on food sold in the USA, must be (per FDA regulation) made from corn or potato. This rule does NOT apply to vitamin or mineral supplements and medications. (2) Donald Kasarda Ph.D., a research chemist specializing on grain proteins, of the United States Department of Agriculture, found that all maltodextrins in the USA are made from corn starch, using enzymes that are NOT derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats. On that basis he believes that celiacs need not be too concerned about maltodextrins, though he cautions that there is no guarantee that a manufacturer wont change their process to use wheat starch or a gluten-based enzyme in the future. (3) – May 1997 Sprue-Nik News

1. Federal Register (4-1-96) 21 CFR. Ch.1, Section 184.1444

2.Additives Alert, an information sheet from the Greater Philadelphia Celiac Support Group, updated early in 1997. This specific information comes from Nancy Patin Falini, the dietitian advisor for the group and a speaker at a national celiac conferences in the past few years.

3. From the CELLIAC Listserv archives, on the Internet, Donald D. Kasarda, posted November 6, 1996.

Subscribe to free Celiac.com email alerts (1-3 email per month with the latest celiac disease research and information, gluten-free recipes, etc.).  By this time I bet your thinking, “Well, what CAN I eat?” Here are some resources for you:

Helpful Links and References:

Dr. Denice Moffat, Naturopath & Medical Intuitive
Telephone Consultation Services
(208) 877-1222  (Pacific Time)
(208) 877-1969 Consult line

Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Links | FAQs | Contact Us
© 2020 Natural Health Techniques
1069 Elk Meadow Lane
Deary, ID 83823 U.S.A